2016 – Rage Against the Dying of the Light

BS-Feel-the-Bern

(This is a wonderfully written guest blog by Astranada Gamsey.)

Recently some of my family members have mentioned to me that people in my hometown have been commenting on my support for Bernie Sanders.

“Does your sister work for Bernie Sanders?” Or, “Why is your sister so angry?” Or “Hillary is not that bad, why doesn’t Astra like her?”

When I hear these comments secondhand, I laugh. My family can’t answer these questions. Only I can; so here goes…

No, I do not officially work for Bernie Sanders, but… oh how I wish I did, and perhaps someday I will. Why am I so angry? Well, I wouldn’t really call it angry, I’d call it outraged.

I’m outraged by the blatant election fraud and voter suppression that unfurled in front of our faces during the democratic primaries. I am outraged that 80% of Americans are living on, near or under the poverty line at least parts of their lives. I am outraged that 60 people have amassed and hoarded as much money as 150 million other people combined. I am outraged that in the year 2016 we still do not have a single payer healthcare system, a $15 minimum wage, clean energy, and tuition-free college education.

Why don’t I like Hillary? Because she will continue to do nothing to change any of the things that inspire my outrage.

To these people who are curious about my posts and opinions, I urge you to ask me directly why I feel the way I do. I will give you honest answers, and I will tell you that you should be outraged, too. I will tell you that if you are not outraged by the clandestine shift of our society from democracy into an oligarchy then you are either a member of the ruling class or you are an abused citizen who is cowering in fear and denial. You believe that the status quo is a safer choice than trying something new. You believe that there is nothing you can do to change any of it, so why even try.

That, my friends, is not just sad… it’s outrageous.

So, all of you with questions about my feelings regarding inequality and injustice, please know this: I will continue to “rage, rage against the dying of the light”.

 

Astranada Gamsey is one of the Holla Moms
buried under work, commute, and child rearing,
yet also getting the word out about Bernie,
democracy, and the needs of working people.

Leave a Reply

