Dear Mr. Sanders

My name is Emmanuel Williams. I live in Houston, Texas. I’m an African American/Native American male. And I am proud to have supported you in the 2016 presidential race. I was disenfranchised. I didn’t think politicians cared about me or anybody like me. I was excited to vote this year but I had no idea who to vote for. Then I saw you on Facebook. You were humble, had an accent, and you spoke the truth. The hard truth. You kept speaking about the 1% and the 99%, and I remember feeling like Clinton was better because I felt like you spoke about the same thing over and over again.

Then I saw the debates and I felt… Alive. The passion you invoked in me was undeniable and I knew I was going to BERN. I just never knew how much.

Sooner than later my Facebook was FILLED with you and your messages. I loved it because I was actually proactive and I was so… Awake. You opened my eyes. And with tears in my eyes I can honestly say “I love you”. You started a berning fire and desire in me that I couldn’t ever hope to contain. Thanks to you I saw how corrupted and messed up our country is, and it hurt. I had never heard of you before this election season, and now I wonder how that possibly happened.

Please, Senator Sanders, understand that my heart is broken and aches that I won’t see you being inaugurated next year. But also understand that you’ve inaugurated a giant in myself that I assumed to be dead or, even worse, non-existent. Thank you for everything. Thank you for sitting in and protesting African American treatment way back when. And thank you for staying true to who you are and showing us, the American people that the struggle never stopped. We just grew complacent with the lesser of two evils. I will look back on this year with pride and some peace of mind that I voted for you and I woke up. Your contribution to me and my future family’s lives (and my political activism and thoughts) have been YUGGE. All in all, thank you for having a heart of pure Gold. You’re the man I want to be like when I grow up. If I’m even half the man I’d be blessed. God Bless you Senator Sanders. Thank you so much from the bottom of my heart. ❤❤❤❤

With love and gratitude,
Emmanuel Marquis Williams

Leave a Reply

